Happiness v.Content

just beAt times it feels like Happiness is an unrealistic expectation. I know it’s not possible for me to have everything I want all at once, but my life is good. I don’t have a lot of money, but I have what I need. I don’t love my job, but it pays the bills and I’m thankful for it. I’m glad that I have the opportunity to perform in two shows right now. I can say that I am grateful and content  to be where I am but it’s hard for me to use the word happy when it comes to my life. There’s another place I want to be. I see myself getting closer to it, but I’m not there yet.

For me, happiness is freedom-being able to express myself and be myself, not having to worry about money every day, being self sufficient, having time and energy to do the things I love-creating, performing, connecting.

So, what is keeping me from all of this now?

Is it wrong to say that I won’t be truly happy until I reach this point? Is that an unrealistic expectation? Once I finally get to this place, will I truly be happy? Or will I be ready for the next thing? Am I just someone who’s never satisfied?

Leave a Reply

