Know Your Worth-Following your Artistic Vision

I’m Reaching the point in my career where people see my talent and everyone wants a piece… the problem is that people are only looking out for themselves. At first it sounds like a great opportunity for exposure, but I now realize the truth. People want to use me as a dancer/choreographer to make their productions better. It’s not about me at all. They don’t realize or even care about how hard it is for me to sacrifice the time to put dances together while I’m working every day. They think they are doing me a favor, but they don’t realize that I am already a professional paid dance instructor and Choreographer. I don’t need to jump at every opportunity people throw at me, especially people who aren’t even offering to pay me.


I know that it’s good to help people and be suportive, but it’s time to look out for myself.  I’ll be 26 next month and I have enough challenges trying to build a career as a  performer. I’m done with giving my time to others just to be supportive. I have my own dreams and visions that I need to put into action, but I keep pushing them aside by giving away the little time I have off. 

It’s time to start thinking and acting like a Professional Artist. It’s time to start focusing on what I want not what other people want from me. It’s time to let go of extra commitments and prioritize my goals as a performing artist. I have to start saying no to things that don’t line up with my vision. It’s not to be mean. It’s the only way I will ever get to where I want to be.

Leave a Reply

